Yellow hair

AS Byatt's 'A Dog, a Horse, a Rat'. Published in the TLS, May 24 1991.

AS Byatt’s ‘A Dog, a Horse, a Rat’. Published in the TLS, May 24 1991 found in Westminster Reference Library.

At a spa hotel today (writes Celia) and child-free, we are tucking into the papers. A Times interview with AS Byatt moved me to heaving sobs on my indoor sun-lounger earlier. She lost a little boy to a drunk-driver 40 years ago. The article quotes her rare and ungooglable poem, ‘a Dog, a Horse, a Rat’ (inspired, of course, by Lear’s cries at the loss of Cordelia) :

“But I have heard what they said
As they remade my life
With their plain ‘He is dead’
None of my breaths since then
Is easy or is sure
Nothing I think or hear
Without ‘thou’lt come no more’
…My skull contains the lost
Breath of your yellow hair
Of your burned yellow hair’

I’ve never read or heard the poem before but I knew it in my bones. And it dawned on me that I read Byatt’s Posession not long before Henry was born. There is a line of verse in it that is about yellow hair. And as Henry’s endless tufts of blond started to sprout, they were always yellow to me. I often talked to him about his lovely yellow hair. The first bits of fluff are appearing again since his last bout of knock-down, drag-out chemotherapy. Byatt’s words reminded me how profoundly lucky we are that his yellow hair is not lost, and this week he reached his seventh birthday. She is speaking tomorrow at the Cheltenham Literary Festival, and we are staying for the weekend, as luck would have it, near Cheltenham. I think we may be packing up tomorrow to go and see this wise, wise old woman.

2 thoughts on “Yellow hair

  1. Josh

    Extraordinary poem. Thanks for sharing Celia.
    And happy birthday to Henry and here’s for a year of return of more of that yellowness. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

